With such high calibre presentations from our Peter Jowett finalists, it was fantastic to see the event so well attended. We had a record turnout for both the afternoon scholarship presentations and evening awards event which we hope you found both valuable and enjoyable.

Without further ado, the results of the event are as follows:

1. Peter Jowett Scholarship
We initially had 20 interested participants which then fell to 10 and 6 finalists were chosen. The submissions were marked independently and on merit.

• Jared Lemon Mobil Oil
• Alex Tuala British American Tobacco
• Pete Robson Z Energy
• Reth Vorn British American Tobacco
• Jared Morris-Jenkins Z Energy
• Kei Kwon British American Tobacco

Congratulations to Pete Robson from Z Energy and Alex Tuala from British American Tobacco for outstanding presentations. They will go on to represent New Zealand in Las Vegas at the NACS Convention 7-10th October. We wish them all the best!!

2. Best New Product Launched in 2013
Suppliers were invited to submit their best new product launch for the 2013 year and were required to provide supporting documentation. These submissions were discussed by the NZACS Committee retailer’s panel and a winner determined.

• Wrigley: Limited Edition 5 Adamantium The Wolverine Gum
• Mars: M&M’s Canister 100g
• Bluebird: Kiwi As brands (Kiwi Onion Dip; Tegel Sweet Chilli Chicken; Watties Tomato Sauce)
• Twin Agencies: Whittaker’s L&P slab 50g

Winner: Twin Agencies: Whittaker’s L&P slab 50g

3. Best Retailer for Store Compliance 2014

This award is made to the retail group that is rated as having the highest level of compliance by their retail store network for negotiated / agreed activities. It is measured in the annual Coalface Consulting Key Account – Head Office survey.

Winner: BP Oil NZ

4. Best Category Manager 2014
Suppliers were asked to nominate and rate their best Category Manager covering attributes such as good communication, delivers on commitments, being commercial/solutions based and strategic. These were discussed by the NZACS suppliers’ panel and a winner determined.


• Ben Paterson – StarMetro
• Briony Newton – Z Energy
• Paul Ellis – Mobil
• Paul Gilbert – Z Energy
• Russell Bryant – Z Energy
• Scot Graham – BP Oil
• Scott Bell - StarMetro
• Tim Stevens – StarMetro
• Wendy Earle – BP Oil

Winner: Scott Bell – StarMetro

5. Best Key Account Manager 2014
Retailers at head office were asked to nominate and rate their best key account manager on attributes such as good communication, delivers on commitments, having the required skills and understanding the business. The NZACS retailers panel discussed and determined the winner.

• Adam Tibble – Fonterra Brands
• Crispin Ashton – Fonterra Brands (Tip Top Ice Cream)
• Helen Wolfgramm – Frucor Beverages
• Matt Phillips – Coca-Cola
• Megan Banks – Goodman Fielder
• Robyn Wake – Frucor Beverages

Winner: Helen Wolfgramm – Frucor Beverages

6. Best Direct Infield Supplier 2014

• Coca-Cola Amatil
• Frucor Beverages
• Fonterra Brands (Tip Top Ice Cream)

Winner: Fonterra Brands (Tip Top Ice Cream)

7. Best Indirect Infield Supplier 2014

• Mondelēz (Cadbury)
• Imperial Tobacco
• Cerebos Foodservice

Winner: Mondelēz (Cadbury)

8. Best Head Office Large Supplier 2014

• Fonterra Brands (Tip Top Ice Cream)
• Fonterra Brands (Anchor)
• Mondelēz (Cadbury)
• Frucor Beverages

Winner: Mondelēz (Cadbury)

9. Best Head Office Medium Supplier 2014

• Twin Agencies
• Red Bull
• Wrigleys

Winner: Twin Agencies

And finally the Supreme Supplier 2014 award winner was Fonterra Brands (Tip Top Ice Cream).

Congratulations to all winners and finalists. All the best for the year ahead and we look forward to celebrating your successes again.

Remember to diarise the 13th November 2014 for the Convenience Leaders Summit – we look forward to seeing you there. Keep an eye out for registrations and there are sponsorship opportunities for any interested parties – even if they are not NZACS members but are involved with the Convenience Industry.

Kind regards
Kathy Faulkner